Max Vickers

Indie/Pop

It’s only right that the first person I write about is Max. I have been a fan of Max since late 2011 and the fact he is still relatively unknown frustrates me to no end.  He began putting a mixture of covers and originals on youtube in 2010. The first original song he uploaded ‘Without You’ has 11,892 views as I type this. Like any other male with a guitar, he’s constantly compared to Ed Sheeran, especially since he started implementing rap into his songs but personally I think his tone and skill sets him aside from other musicians. Each cover he does he adds his own little twist, my personal favourite being a cover of  White Noise by Disclosure, he just completely turns that song around, as if it’s his own.

In 2011 he featured on SBTV, a popular youtube channel for new music. Previous artists featured on the channel include, Jessie J, Ed Sheeran and James Arthur – to name a few. Here he played an original song, which is my favourite of his originals and probably in my top 20 favourite songs ever, called Escape Artist, as well as a cover of American Boy by Estelle and Kanye West.

Throughout the years he’s continued to upload videos to youtube and continued to work on his music. More recently, Max appeared on the first episode of season 6 of The Voice UK, performing ‘Call Me Al’ which you can watch here and managed to get Gavin Rossdale to turn, securing him a place in the next round.

 

His youtube channel can he found here

Twitter here

Sunny Sessions which is a side project here

Soundcloud here

Leave a comment